Chapter 10 – Upon completing the ablution

(1) – “I bear witness that none has the right to be worshipped except Allah, alone without partner, and I bear witness that Muhammad is His slave and Messenger.”

أَشْهَدُ أَنْ لا إِلَـهَ إِلاّ اللهُ وَحْدَهُ لا شَريـكَ لَـهُ وَأَشْهَدُ أَنَّ مُحَمّـداً عَبْـدُهُ وَرَسـولُـه

. ‘Ash-hadu ‘an laa ‘ilaaha ‘illallaahu wahdahu laa shareeka lahu wa ‘ash-hadu ‘anna Muhammadan ‘abduhu wa Rasooluhu.

 

(2)   “O Allah, make me of those who return to You often in repentance and make me of those who remain clean and pure.”

اللّهُـمَّ اجْعَلنـي مِنَ التَّـوّابينَ وَاجْعَـلْني مِنَ المتَطَهّـرين الله أكبر

Allaahummaj’alnee minat-tawwaabeena waj’alnee minal-mutatahhireen.

 

(3) – “How perfect You are O Allah, and I praise You, I bear witness that none has the right to be worshipped except You, I seek Your forgiveness and turn in repentance to You.”

سُبْحـانَكَ اللّهُـمَّ وَبِحَمدِك أَشْهَـدُ أَنْ لا إِلهَ إِلاّ أَنْتَ أَسْتَغْفِرُكَ وَأَتوبُ إِلَـيْك

Subhaanaka Allaahumma wa bihamdika, ‘ash-hadu ‘an laa ‘ilaaha ‘illaa ‘Anta, ‘astaghfiruka wa ‘atoobu ‘ilayk.

 

Reference

(1) Sahih Muslim

(2) Read below for the full hadeeth.

Narrated / Authority of: Umar bin Al-Khattab
narrated that Allah’s Messenger (SAW) said, “anyone performs ablution and makes it a perfect ablution and says (I bear witness that there is no God besides Allah who is the One, Who has no partner and I bear witness that Muhammad is His slave and Messenger. 0 Allah! Cause me to be among those who repent and cause me to be among those who purify themselves), then all eight doors of Paradise are opened for him that he may enter whichever door he chooses.” [A 17316, 17398, Muslim 234, Abu Dawud 169, 609, Nisai 151, Ibn e Majah 470 ]

(3) An-Nasa’i, ‘Amalul-Yawm wal-Laylah, p. 173. See also Al-Albani, ‘Irwa’ul-Ghalil 1/135 and 2/94

Leave a comment